woodward bernstein

November 17 , 2008

Bob Woodward & Carl Bernstein
Pulitzer Prize winning journalists and Watergate reporters

Bob Woodward
Called the most famous investigative reporter in America by the New York Times, Bob Woodward is an assistant managing editor of The Washington Post where he has worked since 1971. He has won nearly every American journalism award including the Pulitzer for his report on the Watergate scandal. He earned a second Pulitzer as lead reporter for the team that reported on the aftermath of September 11th.

The New York Times has said, "Bob Woodward is the most famous investigative reporter in America." Newsweek has excerpted five of his books in headline-making cover stories, 60 Minutes has featured three of his books, and three of Bob Woodward's books have been made into movies.

In his most recent book, State of Denial: Bush at War Part III, Woodward provides his inside story of a war-torn White House, and how the Bush administration avoided telling the truth about Iraq to the public, to Congress, and often to themselves.

Woodward has co-authored or authored more #1 national best-selling nonfiction books than any contemporary American writer. Some of which include:

  1. All the President’s Men (1974) and The Final Days (1976), both Watergate books, co authored with Bernstein
  2. The Brethren: Inside the Supreme Court (1979), co-authored with Scott Armstrong
  3. Wired: The Short Life and Fast Times of John Belushi (1984)
  4. Veil: The Secret Wars of the CIA 1981-1987 (1987)
  5. The Commanders (1991) on the First Bush administration and the Gulf War
  6. The Agenda: Inside the Clinton White House (1994)
  7. Shadow: Five Presidents and the Legacy of Watergate (1999)
  8. Bush at War (2002)
  9. Plan of Attack (2004)

Woodward was born March 26, 1943 in Illinois. He graduated from Yale University in 1965 and served five years as a communications officer in the U.S. Navy before beginning his journalism career at the Montgomery County (Maryland) Sentinel, where he was a reporter for one year before joining the Post. He lives in Washington, D.C. with his wife, Elsa Walsh, an author and writer for the New Yorker. He has two daughters, Tali and Diana.

Carl Bernstein
Pulitzer Prize-winning author Carl Bernstein is best known for his coverage of Watergate for the Washington Post. Bernstein is also recognized for many other investigative writings such as his 1991 Time cover story that told of the secret alliance between Ronald Reagan and Pope John Paul II that kept Solidarity alive in Poland (despite the imposition of martial law), and hastened the end of communism in Eastern Europe and the break-up of the Soviet Union.

Bernstein's cover story for the New Republic, entitled “The Idiot Culture,” assessed the evolution of the post-Watergate media. This article has since become a subject of heated discussions at universities and international forums, and has garnered a high level of attention within the media itself. His detailed accounts of Saddam Hussein's diminishing support among Iraqi people also received worldwide attention.

Bernstein began his career at the age of 16, when he went to work as a copyboy for the Washington Star. His experience has since included every facet of reporting for newspapers, magazines and network television. After leaving the Washington Post, Bernstein served as Washington Bureau chief and senior correspondent for ABC-TV and as a correspondent for Time Magazine.

The author of three best-selling books: All the President's Men; The Final Days; and Loyalties: A Son's Memoir, Bernstein has received virtually every major journalism award in the United States.  His latest book, A Woman in Charge: The Life of Hillary Rodham Clinton was published in the Summer of 2007.

Lecturing throughout the world on the press and politics, Bernstein's commentary is frequently sought by television networks in the United States and abroad. He lives in New York with his two sons.




purpose | non-profit partners | tickets | media sponsors | past seasons | theatre info/maps
Lesher Speaker Series 2007-2019